Thursday | 18 Jan 2018
Welcome to Digital Opportunity, the ‘all about ICT for Development’ channel, brought to you by OneWorld South Asia that informs on digital inclusion, showcases best practices in the sector and provides space for sharing and collaboration amongst ICT for D practitioners.
About Digital Opportunity
OneWorld websites and resources
Appropriate Technology Choice

National Community Radio Awards-2013 conferred

11 February 2013

Ashok Kumar/OneWorld South Asia

Bookmark and Share

India’s minister for Information and Broadcasting, Manish Tiwari, conferred awards on thirteen community radio stations at the final day of the 3rd National Community Radio Sammelan, in New Delhi.

Instituted in 2012, the second edition of the Awards recognises the brilliance of the progress of the community radio in India by identifying outstanding achievements in five categories which includes among others, categories looking for exceptional work in the promotion of local culture and adoption of sustainable models.

Radio Mewat from Nuh in Haryana, working for the development of the educationally backward minority community of Meos bagged the first prize in the most creative programme content category for its programme Apki Police Aapke Sath. Radio Benziger from Kollam in Kerala and SSM Community Radio from Namakkal in Tamil Nadu, bagged the second and third prizes respectively in the same category for their programmes Jana Shabdam and Thaimaiea Thayangathey.

The award in the Sustainability Model Category was given to Radio Mattoli from Wayanad in Kerala. Radio Mattoli was the only radio station to be awarded in that category.

In the thematic category, which recognizes stations for their efforts in making programmes on themes relevant to their community, Puduvai Vaani from Pondicherry bagged the first prize for its programme Ungalai Thedi. Radio Benziger from Kollam in Kerala and Ahmedabad based Rudi no Radio bagged the second and third prize respectively in the same category for their programmes Enikkum Parayanundoru Katha and Kaagaj Kamdar in the same order.

Radio Media Village from Kottayam in Kerala bagged the first prize in the Community Engagement Category for its programme Thanal while the second prize was given to Community Rudi no Radio from Ahmedabad for its programme Right to Information. The third prize in the same category was given to CMS Radio from Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh for its programme Janhit Mein Jari- Raushan Hua Jahaan.

In the category which recognises stations working for the promotion of local culture, Kisanvani from Sironj in Madhya Pradesh bagged the first prize for its programme Hamare Kalakar. Neladani CR from Bangalore bagged the second prize in the same category for its programme Janapadaloka, while CMS Radio from Lucknow received the third prize for its programme Community Ka Kamaal: Ekta-Ramleela.

The awards were conferred upon the stations in the presence of many senior government officials including Uday Kumar Varma, Secretary, India’s Ministry for Information and Broadcasting and Supriya Sahu, Joint Secretary, Ministry for Information and Broadcasting.

Global Goals 2030
festival ECONOMIA trento
Helpi - your personal safety app
» Online climate conference
Online,  November 5, 2012.
» Open Knowledge Festival 2012
Helsinki, Finland,  September 17,2012.
» ITU Green Standards Week
39, quai du Président Roosevelt 92130 Issy-les-Moulineaux, France,  September 17

Digital Opportunity channels and collaborative projects include:
Ek Duniya Anek Awaaz OneWorld Open Knowledge Network ItrainOnline TIKI the Penguin, Kids Channel
Digital Opportunity